DVD Corner's blog

News, dvd and blu-ray reviews

Good Evening New York City-Paul McCartney

This single DVD, 2 cd set is an excellent concert performance from Paul McCartney.

The line of songs that this concert video provides is familiar but Paul also throws in some stuff not previously heard on his concert dvds.  Here’s the entire song set:

1. Intro
2. Drive My Car
3. Jet
4. Only Mama Knows
5. Flaming Pie
6. Got To Get You Into My Life
7. Let Me Roll It
8. Highway
9. The Long And Winding Road
10. My Love
11. Blackbird
12. Here Today
13. Dance Tonight
14. Calico Skies
15. Mrs Vandebilt
16. Eleanor Rigby
17. Sing The Changes
18. Band On The Run
19. Back In The USSR
20. I’m Down
21. Something
22. I’ve Got A Feeling
23. Paperback Writer
24. A Day In The Life / Give Peace A Chance
25. Let It Be
26. Live And Let Die
27. Hey Jude
28. Day Tripper
29. Lady Madonna
30. I Saw Her Standing There
31. Yesterday
32. Helter Skelter
33. Get Back
34. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band / The End

Highlights include the performance of I’m Down, interspersed with Beatles footage from the 1965 Shea Stadium performance.  Paul also includes some Fireman material for the first time.  “I Saw Her Standing There” is another highlight, as Billy Joel joins him on stage for that classic Beatles tune. While some auto tuning may have been done, it does not detract from the general high energy level McCartney still exhibits at 68; the man loves to perform and the crowd eats it up.  If you are a McCartney fan, you will like this new concert DVD, CD combo set, as it shows McCartney at his best.  One of the best concert DVDs of McCartney, and I have a lot of them.

November 26, 2009 - Posted by | DVD review | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: